Learn about our ongoing COVID-19 response.

Nominate a Member or Friend for the Human Rights Award 

29 June 2022

In 1992, the International Human Rights Award for Service to Humanity was created in Community of Christ. Passed as World Conference Resolution 1228, it recognizes individuals in the forefront of organizations and causes working to alleviate human suffering and supporting human rights. The Community of Christ Human Rights Award is presented each World Conference to at least two people. 

Any member, friend of Community of Christ, or one of its affiliates (Outreach International, Graceland University, etc.) who is defined by one or more descriptions here may be nominated through an online form

The deadline for nominations is 1 October, and a video was created specifically to promote participation. 

The Human Rights Team asks you to help recognize these crucial individuals. Nominees might: 

  • Demonstrate a sustained commitment or exceptional service in one or more area of human rights—defined as rights and freedoms that belong to every human being. Those rights include the struggle to maintain, assist, and enhance life through adequate nourishment (food), safety and nurturing relationships, access to education and possibilities of human development, meaningful work (economic opportunity), health, and liberty (freedom and responsibility).
  • Be involved in the forefront of causes working to alleviate suffering and promoting human rights.
  • Stimulate change within a community outside the church—on a local, national, or international level—to alleviate suffering and promote human rights.
  • Facilitate change on church policy, hymnody, curriculum theology, or other area in pursuit of human rights. 

Explore Community of Christ’s human-rights efforts on this website. 

The United Nations commemorates World Humanitarian Day on 19 August to pay tribute to humanitarian workers who died or were injured in the course of their work, and to honor all aid and health workers who continue, despite the odds, to provide life-saving support and protection to people most in need.  


2019 Janet and David Irby 
2019 Paul and Rena DeBarthe 
2016 Matthew Henricks 
2016 Linda and Terry Read 
2013 Janet Murdock 
2013 Suzanne Selden 
2010 Roy Schaefer 
2010 Dennis and Lorna Labayen 
2007 Rod Downing 
2007 Rhoda Mzingo 
2004 Elkana and Alicia Odupa 
2002 Allan Wigood 
2002 William Blue 
2000 Carley Cole 
2000 John Menzies 
1998 Kathy Bachman 
1998 Robert Reeds 
1996 Brian Burdekin 
1996 Rupa Kumar 
1994 Ed Guy 
1994 Marina Ramos de Merino 


Previous Page

Learn more about Community of Christ. Subscribe