General Denominational Information

PDF copy


We proclaim Jesus Christ and promote communities of joy, hope, love, and peace. We pursue
Christ’s mission as our mission through five mission initiatives:

 Invite People to Christ – Christ’s mission of evangelism
 Abolish Poverty, End Suffering – Christ’s mission of compassion
 Pursue Peace on Earth – Christ’s mission of justice and peace
 Develop Disciples to Serve – equip individuals for Christ’s mission
 Experience congregations in mission – equip congregations for Christ’s mission


These values describe the personality of Community of Christ:

 Grace and Generosity
 Sacredness of Creation
 Continuing Revelation
 Worth of All Persons
 All Are Called
 Responsible Choices
 Pursuit of Peace (Shalom)
 Unity in Diversity
 Blessings of Community


The church was legally organized on April 6, 1830, in Fayette, New York. Following the
assassination of founder Joseph Smith Jr. in 1844, the church split into multiple groups. Joseph
Smith III succeeded his father and was ordained prophet-president of this denomination on April 6, 1860.

In 1920 church headquarters was established in Independence, Missouri. Today,
Community of Christ International Headquarters includes a Temple that is dedicated to the
pursuit of peace, reconciliation, and healing of the spirit. Our history informs our current call as
Christ-centered, community builders who are committed to sharing the peace of Jesus Christ
throughout the world.


Scripture is writing inspired by God’s Spirit and accepted by the church as the normative
expression of its identity, message, and mission. We affirm the Bible as the foundational
scripture for the church. In addition, Community of Christ uses the Book of Mormon and the
Doctrine and Covenants—not to replace the witness of the Bible or improve on it, but because
they confirm its message that Jesus Christ is the Living Word of God. When responsibly
interpreted and faithfully applied, scripture provides divine guidance and inspired insight for our


Approximately 250,000 people in more than 60 nations are members of Community of Christ.


The Temple and Auditorium in Independence, Missouri, house Community of Christ
International Headquarters at River Boulevard and Walnut Street.

Community of Christ International Headquarters
1001 W. Walnut St.
Independence, MO 64050-3562 USA


First Presidency- A three member quorum, officially made up of the president and two counselors, presides over the international church.

Stephen M. Veazey, president
Becky L. Savage, counselor
K. Scott Murphy, counselor

Council of Twelve Apostles- Twelve high priests called and ordained to be special missionary witnesses. Assigned by the First Presidency, they carry major responsibility for church expansion, and serve as administrative supervisors of field jurisdictions.

Mareva M. Arnaud Tchong
Linda L. Booth
J.A. Bolton
Barbara Carter
Bunda C. Chibwe
Stassi D. Cramm
Ronald D. Harmon Jr.
Richard C.N. James
Rick W. Maupin
Carlos Enrique Mejia
Susan D. Oxley
Arthur E. Smith

Presiding Bishopric - The presiding bishop and two counselors function as the financial officers of the international church.

Stephen M. Jones, presiding bishop,
Steven E. Graffeo, counselor
James A. Poirier, counselor

Presiding Evangelist - The presiding evangelist gives special ministry with emphasis on personal counseling, crisis ministry, and revivalist evangelism. 

David R. Brock


All men, women, and children have God-given gifts and abilities valuable to the creation of
Christian community. Women and men are called and ordained to provide a wide range of
priesthood ministries. Most congregational ministers are bi-vocational, meaning they are fulltime
ministers while earning their livelihood through employment outside the church. A small
percentage are financially supported by the World Church.